Have a Magical Day

magickingdom

I spent the past week in Orlando, Florida. We did all 4 Disney World parks and both Universal parks in 5 days. It was exhausting, but oh so amazing!

The one thing you need to know about me is that I am a HUGE Disney fan. I was easily the most excited person in at least 3 character meet-and-greet lines. Little kids have nothing on me when it comes to meeting Buzz Lightyear – I watched Toy Story so much as a kid that I ruined our VHS.

It wasn’t my first time at Disney, and 3 months ago I wrote an essay which analyzed Disney’s parks, merchandise and movies through Umberto Eco’s theories of hyperrealism. So I thought I was prepared. I thought I was immune to Disney’s ability to overwhelm your senses and erase all memories of reality. I thought I’d get some new cute photos with some Disney characters, enjoy the rides, and try really hard not to check on all my school assignments while waiting in lines. But no. I was severely mistaken.

The magic is real, guys.

In theory, as a 21 year old, I know that all the characters I met were people my age in really great costumes. I know that. but try telling that to me when I’m waiting in a half hour line to meet Moana, crying and shaking because oh my god, it’s really her!

I was not prepared to be swept up in Disney’s magic as an adult, yet it happened and I am so glad it did. I am not glad about being back in Canada (no matter how “warm” our weather is right now), nor am I happy about being back in school.

For a week, I completely forgot about everything that was happening in my life. I forgot about upcoming doctor’s appointments, assignments that needed to be finished (read – started), job and school applications that I was waiting for responses on, that pesky guy who won’t take a hint and leave my DMs alone.

I forgot about it all.

For one glorious week I wasn’t stressed. I didn’t get super tanned, but my skin cleared up (both acne scars and eczema). My hair was curlier and bouncier than it has been in months! I could wear shorts! I went swimming nearly every day.

It was perfect. It was the grad trip I’ve been dreaming of for two years. It went better than I expected it going. It didn’t cost me as much as I expected it to. I spent 168 hours with two of my best friends since high school.

It was nothing short of magical.

-Red Hot

P.S shout out to the frat boys who made the line for the King Kong ride 100% more fun. I hope you’re out there partying it up and still chanting Kong! Kong! Kong!

Leave a Reply

