Guest Blogger: Play Your Role

Hey, hi, hello! I’m Sonia, and I am one of this week’s guest bloggers while Red Hot is on her vacation (lucky duck). Little does she know that as soon as she left for land that’s actually warm, we got our own taste of sunshine and spring up here too! Anyways, who am I? I am a university student with majors in both Business and Music. I’ve played the violin for 16 years now and am a hot mess when it comes to being a procrastinating perfectionist.

Have I had a blog before? No. Am I a writer? No. But, like all of us, I do have thoughts that tumble through my head, more often expressed abstractly through music and movement than through words. However, I do enjoy the odd occasion of expressing my messy thoughts. I hope you enjoy my most recent flood of words.

______________________________________________________________________________

The fight-or-flight response is a concept with which we are all familiar; a fear/stress instinct we feel when in a situation that directly threatens our being. However, we are involved in many stressful and scary situations where we are not the ones directly at harm, but our responses to these situations can be questioned and even categorized.

A recent example that comes to mind is when in the waiting room of the emergency ward of a hospital. Around me sat an array of individuals; quietly speaking with their loved ones accompanying them or sitting alone with strained faces from whatever pain they were feeling. In the midst of the quiet chatter and bustling of a 9 p.m. emergency room, there was a man who had been slumped over, unmoving, and deadly silent for the past hour and a half of waiting. He jolted upright in his seat letting out a bellowing, gurgling cry that made my body seize in fear. Collapsing to the floor in seizure, the waiting room full of patrons began to act.

Nurses rushed to the man’s side. Panicking, they called out for the doctor and spoke in shaking voices of what to do. The doctor briskly knelt beside the men. Following a checklist in his mind, he asked questions about the patient and the situation, to which he only received panicked responses from the nurses. As they worked, around them stood us patrons. Paralyzed in our places, we want to help, but are instead stuck in a different type of fear; not for our own lives, but for the man’s.

Paralyzed-panicked-or-present response. I always imagine myself being The Present person, yet in these situations I can’t help but be so struck by the stress that I can only stare, waiting for directions from The Present person that may never come. Is it possible to change from being The Paralyzed to The Present through experience alone? Is it possible to make that direct change, or might you first become The Panicked before becoming The Present? Are these roles who we are entirely, or do the roles change depending on the situation at hand?

Do you like the role you take on? Do you dare make the decision to change?

  • Sonia
Leave a Reply

