The Good

I’m trying to see the good in winter.

It’s so easy to focus on the bad.

It’s so easy to let my seasonal depression take over as I slip between the covers only to emerge again when the sun stays out past 4.

It’s easy to look outside and groan when I see the layer of fog, clouds, and ice for the second week in a row.

It’s easy to bus everywhere for the next 5 months because the only time I was in an accident, it involved a heavy snow storm.

It’s easy to feel demotivated or to reminisce about wearing shorts and spending all day in the sun.

For someone who hates winter, in the very core of her being, it’s hard to find the good. But I’m trying.

It takes the shape of the puppy snow angels my 100lbs dog makes on our front lawn.

It’s snowballs being hurled across school yards and followed by shrieks of laughter.

It’s the edge and toughness that we, who grew up in places with cold, harsh winters, develop. Just try and touch us!

It’s ice skating downtown.

It’s racing down hills on crazy carpets.

It’s ice cream not melting as I walk outside.

It’s twinkling lights that pierce through the fog.

It’s the crunch of ice under my feet.

It’s the longing for that clean, crisp air mid-July when I can barely move my sticky body off the lawn chair.

It’s winter, and it’s (kinda) wonderful.

-Red Hot

Leave a Reply

